Lecture of the Nobel Prize Winners at NU

2015-04-19 11:23:42

We are happy to invite you to the series of guest lectures on May 22 by Nobel Prize winners in economics. This is a tremendous opportunity for students, faculty and staff to meet the world renowned researchers at Nazarbayev University to be engaged in lively discussion of the current issues in economics.

Eric Maskin


Topic “An Introduction to Mechanism Design”

Eric Maskin Nobel Prize in Economics, 2007  (born on 12.12.1950) is an American economist, bachelor, magister and doctor of philosophy. At the age of 26, Maskin was a research fellow at Jesus College, Cambridge. After that he taught at Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1977–1984 and from 1985-2000 at Harvard University, where he was the Louis Berkman Professor of Economics. In 2000, he moved to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey. Maskin has worked in diverse areas of economic theory, such as game theory, the economics of incentives, and contract theory. He is particularly well known for his papers on mechanism design/implementation theory and dynamic games. In 2007, Maskin shared the Nobel Prize in Economics along with Leonid Hurwicz and Roger Myerson “for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory”.

Finn Kydland 


Topic “Innovation and Capital Formation in Today’s Policy Environment.”

Finn Kydland Nobel Prize Laureate in Economics 2004, (born on 01.12.1943) in Norway. He is a co-recipient of the 2004 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics (shared with Edward C. Prescott), “for their contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles”. Kydland earned a B.S. from the Norwegian School of Economics and Business Administration (NHH) in 1968 and a Ph.D. in Economics from Carnegie Mellon in 1973. He is a Research Associate for the Federal Reserve Banks of Dallas, Cleveland and St. Louis, and a Senior Research Fellow at the IC2 Institute at the University of Texas at Austin.

Please, register at the link.

Date: 22 May 2015

Time: 14.30-16.00

Venue: Senate Hall (Block 1, 3rd flloor)