Search by keyword

NU undergraduates learning to become entrepreneurs

BACK TO NEWS

NU undergraduates learning to become entrepreneurs

More than 500 NU undergraduates completed NU GSB’s BUS 101 Core Course in Business where they learned key concepts in accounting, finance, entrepreneurship and management.

Provost Adesida believed that all NU students should develop basic business and entrepreneurship skills as part of their undergraduate education. He should be congratulated for his vision!

There are 4 main reasons why it is important for all undergraduate students to have some understanding of business fundamentals:

● Business plays an important role in society and most students will be dealing with businesses in their careers. Understanding the language of business can help equip students for their future careers.
● President Tokayev indicated that Kazakhstan needs to create a diversified and technology-based economy. Developing a new generation of entrepreneurs is one of the basic principles for Kazakhstan’s future. Kazakhstan needs more entrepreneurs!
● Contrary to common perceptions, entrepreneurship is something that can be taught and it is wrong to think that you cannot be an entrepreneur. A combination of strong technical skills plus an understanding of entrepreneurship and business is an excellent foundation for any student.
● As the COVID-19 pandemic has so profoundly demonstrated, we live in an era of great volatility, uncertainty, complexity, and ambiguity. An understanding of entrepreneurial principles can help to navigate the uncertainties that we face in our lives and in our careers.

Student feedback on the BUS 101 Fall semester 2020 course was very positive, which was gratifying given that this was the first time that the course was run, it was conducted completely online. The uncertainties and technical difficulties created by the COVID-19 pandemic represented a good learning experience for the students since it reflected the challenges and uncertainties that entrepreneurs face every day.

Students worked in teams to develop their own entrepreneurial opportunity. Starting with an idea and then building this into a ‘pitch’ to potential investors, that covered value proposition, target market, business model, financial projections and forecasted returns to investors.

At the end of the semester, students voted for the entrepreneurial opportunity which they believed to be the best in a “Champion’s League” competition, with the winner being offered a spot in the Incubator Program which is run by NURIS.

The entrepreneurial opportunities developed by the student teams are all high quality. The winning opportunity, “BosPlace”, involved the development of an App for detecting the occupancy of restaurants in order to reduce waiting times.

Congratulations to BosPlace and to all the student teams for the entrepreneurial opportunities they developed as part of the BUS 101 Core Course in Business! Aldiyar Omirbayev, Mechanical Engineering 3rd year student, and one of the team members of “BosPlace”, shared his perspective: “The critical thing that I learned during BUS 101 was building an almost finished startup from just an idea. The steps that were presented in the course were immensely helpful in easing the process of creating the business plan, things like customer segmentation, value proposition, etc. Also, it was a unique experience for most students who have never participated in building a startup. Our idea to create an app for restaurant customers where they can see real-time occupancy has received a lot of support. At some point, we will add options like reservation of table and ordering food 10-15 minutes earlier, so you can go to the restaurant and start eating right away.”

Over 500 undergraduate students are currently taking the BUS 101 course during the current Spring 2021 semester and we will also be offering the course during the Summer Semester.

We look forward to the opportunity to teach the course in a live classroom environment at some point, as this will allow us to more easily engage with students.

We are also looking forward to expanding our cooperation with NURIS. This connection benefits everyone - NURIS, NU GSB and the university as a whole, as well as providing students with the opportunity to develop their ideas into real entrepreneurial ventures.

We believe that the BUS 101 course can play an important role in helping Kazakhstan to achieve its national goals. The BUS 101 Core Course in Business equips students with fundamental skills and knowledge which can prove useful in their future careers.

Поиск по ключевым словам

Обучение студентов НУ предпринимательству

НАЗАД К НОВОСТЯМ

Обучение студентов НУ предпринимательству

Более 500 студентов НУ прошли Базовый курс ВШБ НУ BUS 101 по бизнесу, по окончании которого они получили ключевые знания в области бухгалтерского учета, финансов, предпринимательства и менеджмента.

Провост Адесида верит, что все студенты НУ должны развивать базовые навыки бизнеса и предпринимательства в рамках обучения на программах бакалавриата. Его прозорливость достойна похвалы!

Существует 4 основные причины, по которым всем студентам бакалавриата важно иметь представление об основах бизнеса:

● Бизнес играет важную роль в обществе, и большинство студентов будут иметь дело с бизнесом в процессе рабочей деятельности. Понимание делового языка поможет студентам подготовиться к их будущей карьере.
● Президент Токаев отметил, что Казахстану необходимо создать диверсифицированную и технологическую экономику. Развитие нового поколения предпринимателей - один из основных принципов будущего Казахстана. Казахстану нужно больше предпринимателей!
● Вопреки распространенному мнению, предпринимательству можно научить, и неправильно думать, что вы не можете быть предпринимателем. Сочетание сильных технических навыков плюс понимание предпринимательства и бизнеса—отличная основа для любого студента.
● Как показательно продемонстрировала пандемия COVID-19, мы живем в эпоху большой нестабильности, неопределенности и неоднозначности. Понимание принципов предпринимательства может помочь ориентироваться в неопределенности, с которой мы сталкиваемся в нашей жизни и в нашей карьере.

Отзывы студентов о курсе BUS 101 осеннего семестра 2020 были весьма положительными, что было отрадно, учитывая, что курс был запущен впервые, он проводился полностью онлайн. Неопределенность и технические трудности, вызванные пандемией COVID-19, послужили хорошим опытом обучения для студентов, поскольку они отражали проблемы и неопределенности, с которыми предприниматели сталкиваются каждый день.

Студенты работали в командах, для развития собственных предпринимательских возможностей. Начиная с идеи, а затем превращая ее в «питч» для потенциальных инвесторов, которая охватывает ценностное предложение, целевой рынок, бизнес-модель, финансовые прогнозы и прогнозируемую доходность для инвесторов.

В конце семестра студенты голосовали за предпринимательскую возможность, которая, по их мнению, была лучшей в соревновании «Лига чемпионов», а победителю предлагалось место в программе инкубатора, которую проводит NURIS.

Предпринимательские идеи, разработанные командами студентов, отличаются высоким качеством. Идея-победитель «BosPlace» заключалась в разработке приложения для определения загруженности ресторанов, чтобы сократить время ожидания.

Поздравляем BosPlace и все студенческие команды с предпринимательскими возможностями, которые они развили в рамках Базового курса BUS 101 по бизнесу! Алдияр Омирбаев, студент 3-го курса машиностроения и один из членов команды «BosPlace», поделились своей точкой зрения: «Самое главное, что я усвоил во время BUS 101, - создание почти готового стартапа на основе одной идеи. Шаги, которые были представлены в курсе, были чрезвычайно полезны для облегчения процесса создания бизнес-плана, таких как сегментация клиентов, ценностное предложение и т. д. Кроме того, это был уникальный опыт для большинства студентов, которые никогда не участвовали в создании стартапа. Наша идея создать приложение для гостей ресторанов, где они могли бы видеть заполняемость в режиме реального времени, получила большую поддержку. В будущем мы добавим опции бронирования столика и заказа еды на 10-15 минут раньше, чтобы вы могли пойти в ресторан и сразу приступить к трапезе.”

Более 500 студентов бакалавриата в настоящее время проходят курс BUS 101 в течение текущего весеннего семестра 2021 года, и мы также будем проводить этот курс в летнем семестре.

Мы с нетерпением ждем, когда станет возможным преподавать курс в аудитории вживую, так как это позволит нам легче взаимодействовать со студентами.

Мы также надеемся на расширение сотрудничества с NURIS. Эта связь приносит пользу всем - NURIS, НУ ВШБ и Университету в целом, а также дает студентам возможность воплощать свои идеи в реальное предпринимательское начинание.

Мы считаем, что курс BUS 101 может сыграть важную роль в содействии Казахстану в достижении его национальных целей. Базовый курс BUS 101 по бизнесу дает студентам фундаментальные навыки и знания, которые могут оказаться полезными в их будущей карьере.